Lesson Two

dont_go_into_the_light_by_pho3nix_bf_jpg_320x230_crop_q85

en·light·en·ment – noun

The act of enlightening.

The state of being enlightened: to live in spiritual enlightenment.

The Enlightenment, a philosophical movement of the 18th century, characterized by belief in the power of human reason and by innovations in political, religious, and educational doctrine.

I know I was told by Sir Seven that I no longer had to write this essay for him, but something compelled me to continue with it anyhow. This morning I had an amazing conversation with Sir Seven. We spoke about Socrates and Plato, and many D/s related topics. He asked me a few questions which pertain to this lesson he wanted me to write. So I am going to continue on with it.

My first lesson he gave me was to read the Allegory Cave, by Plato. He wanted me to read it in a view that Gor is the cave in which Plato writes about. I can see how it can relate. Gor is fictional from a sci fi series written by John Norman, or for those who are truly interested in his work Professor Lange.  Gorean novels arent the best written in my opinion, and they leave much to be desired. However there are many great things I can take from these stories and apply to my everyday life.

Now this is on a daily real life aspect. I like to have integrity and be honorable in my actions. This is something strongly promoted in the Gor novels. I want to be beautiful, and feminine. That is something promoted in the Gorean novels as well. Though I want to have and do all these things while having an opinion, and not becoming a door mat.

This is where the Allegory cave comes into play. Most people who believe in Gorean philosophy, or even for the Role-play aspects of Gor everyone apparently is an expert on Gor, and will argue until they are blue in the face. They want to throw quotes are you just to prove you wrong. I have said this time and time again, that throwing quotes at someone to prove a point just makes you look like a jack ass. Clearly the quotes can be used anyway you want, they are taken out of context. Gor is a personal journey just as BDSM is. You take Gor for what it is, and adapt to what you believe in. What works for you might not work for someone else.

So yes I think the people who sit there arguing daily over what is Gor and what is not Gor, are chained in the cave. They can only see the shadows on the wall. I admit I used to be like this. I would argue day in and day out over what is Gor and what is not. I gave up with that. I began to look at it differently. Gor is what it is, and I take from it what best suits me. It is much more beautiful now that I have done this. Granted I have chosen to transition out of Gorean Role-play. I might do it once in a blue moon here or there just to amuse myself, but in the end it is over for me.

My eyes are open! I have seen the other side of the cave, and I want more of that realism in my submission. I have so to say been enlightened. I am open to more knowledge, different aspects of life, and I am eager to continue forward improving myself. It is something I need. I think coming to the Bittersweet D/s academy will better enlighten me. It will help guide me towards things I need in life, and educate me on where to go from here, how to obtain what I want in the lifestyle.

 

Leave a Reply

